IEEE London Section


Archive for the ‘Uncategorized’ Category

Announcement of 2017 ICF WIE Prize

Saturday, April 29th, 2017

London section member Elena Uchiteleva was presented with the IEEE Canada Foundation’s Women in Engineering (WIE) Prize at the IEEE Canada Spring Board Meeting in Windsor on April 28. This prize is sponsored by the Judy Clift Fund which was established to honour a gracious individual who believed strongly in gender equality.

Elena was key to the growth of the London Section’s WIE group and has been very active. In recognition for this, she was nominated as the WIE Chair for Canada and most recently, the Chair of the Member Services for Canada.

Congratulations Elena!

(On June 29th, at the WIE “Zumba and Ice Cream” event, Elena was re-presented with the framed certificate.)


IEEE Award Winners at the Lambton County Science Fair

Monday, April 10th, 2017

On April 8, IEEE Member Phil Lasek presented the 2017 Lambton Science Fair IEEE London Section GREEN Awards to:

Senior: Joy Shah & Parth Vachharajani for “Riding the Flouride”
Intermediate: Mavi Deol for “A Novel Filtration System to Reduce Carbon Dioxide from Car Emissions”
Junior: Kodie Gaffan for “Hair the Boom”
Exhibit: Liam Henderson & Katrina McCormack for “Hydration Nation – Thermal Desalination Plant”


Thames Valley Science and Engineering Fair (TVSEF)

Tuesday, April 4th, 2017

The annual TVSEF was held March 24-26. The London Section has been supporting an engineering award for a number of years. This year the two IEEE award winners were Danish Mahmood, for his project “W.I.N.I.T.S. (Wireless Interconnected Non‐Invasive Triage System)” and Waleed Sawan, for his “Drip ‐ A Precision Agriculture System for the Developing World” The awards were presented by our Women in Engineering Chair, Manar Jamal


London Children’s Museum – National Engineering Month (NEM) Activities

Tuesday, April 4th, 2017

In conjunction with the Professional Engineers Ontario (PEO) two activities (paper airplane and wind turbine) were held March 18 at London Children’s Museum. About 100 attendees participated. Murray MacDonald organized the activities and all the on-site volunteers were from the PEO.

2017 Winner of R.H. Tanner Industry Leadership Award

Tuesday, April 4th, 2017

Congratulations to Dr. Weiming Shen, FIEEE, for winning the prestigious IEEE Canada R.H. Tanner Industry Leadership Award for “outstanding contributions to collaborative intelligent systems”


2017 Senior Member Elevations from London Section

Tuesday, April 4th, 2017

Congratulations to the following section members on being elevated to Senior Member status:

Borovickic, Jagoda
Gargantini, Irene
Makaran, John
VanDamme, Allan

Life Member Presentation and Meeting at UWO Feb 27th

Tuesday, April 4th, 2017

The first part of the meeting was a recognition of Dr. G.S.Peter Castle for earning the prestigious IEEE Kaufmann award for 2016. The medal was circulated for attendees. Dr. Castle then gave a presentation “A Century of Development in Applied Electrostatics; Nothing Static Here!” – brief description of the field of applied electrostatics and three main applications that have evolved over the last century. This was followed by a number of questions.

Slides for the presentation: A Century of Development in Applied Electrostatics, G.S.P. Castle

The second part of the meeting was for Life Members to elect a new executive and discuss plans to 2017. As proposed, Dr. Castle was elected the new LM chair and Murray MacDonald, Past Chair of the section, was elected as Vice-Chair. We thanked the current Chair, Ray Brule, and Vice-Chair, Trevor Grant (in absentia), for their efforts.

Discussion on future meetings yielded 4 points: preference for lunch meetings as opposed to evenings, preference for tours or similar activity to see current activities, recommendation to invite student branch, consideration of offering car pool to attract members who may not feel comfortable driving.

IEEE London Section 2016 Annual General Meeting

Monday, December 5th, 2016

The London section Annual General Meeting (AGM) was held on Thursday November 17 at the Doubletree by Hilton on Dundas St.

Chair Dr. Abdallah Shami welcomed all and provided a short report on the section activities for 2016 and plans for 2017. Our Treasurer, Allan VanDamme, presented the financial picture for this year and a budget for next. The election of the 2017 executive was held with the slate of 2016 officers returning for 2017 acclaimed:
Chair – Abdallah Shami,
Vice Chair – Ahmed Hussein,
Treasurer – Allan VanDamme, and
Secretary – Elizabeth Tomaszewski

After an enjoyable buffet dinner, Murray MacDonald presented award certificates to members nominated for recognition:
Outstanding Volunteer – Ana Luisa Trejos, for inspiring the London IEEE Section’s Women in Engineering Affinity Group
Outstanding Young Professional – Mohamed AbuShark, for his role as Chair of Young Professionals (YP) Affinity Group and continuing assistance in organizing YP events
Outstanding Young Professional – Abdallah Moubayed, for his roles as Young Professionals (YP) affinity group Secretary and Vice Chair, as Secretary of Computer Society chapter, and continuing assistance in organizing YP events
Outstanding Young Professional – Tame Mohamed, for his role as Young Professionals (YP) Treasurer, organizing YP events and conference and summit road trips, and assisting with Women in Engineering events

Then our keynote speaker, John Bebawy, Business Development Director at TELUS, provided an enlightening presentation on “the Connect World: Finding Competetive Edge with IOT”. This was followed by a lengthy Q&A session.

Adballah then adjourned the meeting though many stayed to network after.

Photos courtesy of Anas Saci



Congratulations G. S. Peter Castle for the IEEE Richard Harold Kaufman Award

Wednesday, June 22nd, 2016

Dr. G. S. Peter Castle, Professor Emeritus and Adjunct Research Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Western Ontario, has been awarded the prestigious IEEE Kaufmann Award for 2016 “For development of applied electrostatic devices and processes in industry, agriculture, and environmental protection.”

The IEEE Richard Harold Kaufmann Award was established by the IEEE Board of Directors in 1986. The Award is named in honor of Richard Harold Kaufmann in memory of his many important contributions to industrial systems engineering and his dedicated service to the IEEE Industry Applications Society. It is administered through the Technical Field Awards Council and sponsored by the IEEE Industrial Applications Society. It is presented to an individual or team of up to three persons “For outstanding contributions in industrial systems engineering“

Congratulations to Dr. Castle.