2015 Executive

The operation of the IEEE London Section is managed by the Section Executive committee, whose members are elected or appointed every two years. The officers are elected by the membership of the Section – the remainder are appointed by the Section Chair. The significant procedures relating to Section operations are detailed in the bylaws. We are always looking for IEEE members to assist in these volunteer activities. If you are interested in finding out more about becoming a Section or Committee volunteer, please contact the Section Chair whose email address is provided below.

We are trying to prevent email gleaning robots from reading our email addresses, so we have adopted the use of [at] to foil them. Copy the email address into your email client and change the [at] to the normal @ symbol before sending your email to any of the people listed below.


Murray L. MacDonald <murraymacdonald[at]ieee[dot]org>
Past Chairs
Weiming Shen, Ph.D. <wshen[at]ieee[dot]org> (Junior Past Chair)
Maike Luiken, Ph.D. <maike[dot]luiken[at]ieee[dot]org> (Senior Past Chair)
Vice Chair
Abdallah Shami <ashami2[at]uwo[dot]ca>
Ahmed Refaey Hussein <ahusse7[at]uwo[dot]ca>
Allan Van Damme <vandamma[at]londonhydro[dot].com>

Committee Chairs

Awards and Recognition
Maike Luiken <maike[dot]luiken[at]ieee[dot]org>
Industrial Relations
Maike Luiken <maike[dot]luiken[at]ieee[dot]org>
Membership Development
Duane Jacques <duanejacques[at]gmail[dot]com>
Nominations Committee
Weiming Shen, Ph.D. <wshen[at]ieee[dot]org>
Program Committee
Weiming Shen, Ph.D. <wshen[at]ieee[dot]org>
Student Activities
Xianbin Wang, Ph.D. <wang[dot]xianbin[at]gmail[dot]com>
UWO Student Branch Counselor
Xianbin Wang, Ph.D. <wang[dot]xianbin[at]gmail[dot]com>
Section Student Representative
Daniel Rozhko <uwo[dot]ieee[at]gmail[dot]com>
UWO Student Branch Chair
Daniel Rozhko<uwo[dot]ieee[at]gmail[dot]com>
Teacher In-Service Program (TISP)
Murray L Macdonald <murraymacdonald[at]ieee[dot]org>
Dennis Michaelson <dgm[at]uwo[dot]ca>
History Committee
Trevor Grant <trevor[dot]grant[at]rogers[dot]com>
Senior Member Elevation
Weiming Shen, Ph.D. <wshen[at]ieee[dot]org>
Ashfaq Kash Husain <a[dot]husain[at]ieee[dot]org>

Technical Society Chapters

Engineering in Medicine and Biology Society Chapter Chair
Terence M. Peters <tpeters[at]robarts[dot]ca>
Power & Energy Society Chapter Chair
Maike Luiken, Ph.D. <maike[dot]luiken[at]ieee[dot]org>
Computer Society / Systems, Man, and Cybernetics Society Chapter Chair
Abdallah Shami, Ph.D. <ashami2[at]uwo[dot]ca>
Communication / Broadcast Society Chapter Chair
Xianbin Wang, Ph.D. <xianbin[at]gmail[dot]com>

Affinity Groups

Young Professionals (formerly GOLD) Chair
Mohamed Abusharkh <mabusha[at]uwo[dot]ca>
Young Professionals (formerly GOLD) Vice-Chair
Fuad Shamieh <fshamieh[at]uwo[dot]ca>
Life Members Vice-Chair

Trevor Grant <trevor[dot]grant[at]rogers[dot]com>
Women in Engineering (WIE) Chair
Elena Uchiteleva <elena.uch[at]gmail[dot]com>
Women in Engineering (WIE) Vice-Chair
Ana Luisa Trejos <atrejos[at]uwo[dot]ca>

IEEE Canadian Foundation

IEEE Canadian Foundation Representative
Maike Luiken, Ph.D.<maike[dot]luiken[at]ieee[dot]org>

London Section Established: October 31, 1944
Geocode: 07 05 07 00, Officer’s Terms End: 13/12
Council Affiliation: Central Canada Council