2019 Executive

The operation of the IEEE London Section is managed by the Section Executive committee, whose members are elected or appointed every two years. The officers are elected by the membership of the Section – the remainder are appointed by the Section Chair. The significant procedures relating to Section operations are detailed in the bylaws. We are always looking for IEEE members to assist in these volunteer activities. If you are interested in finding out more about becoming a Section or Committee volunteer, please contact the Section Chair whose email address is provided below.

We are trying to prevent email gleaning robots from reading our email addresses, so we have adopted the use of [at] to foil them. Copy the email address into your email client and change the [at] to the normal @ symbol before sending your email to any of the people listed below.


Refaey Hussein, Ph.D.. <ahusse7[at]uwo[dot]ca>
Past Chairs
Abdallah Shami, Ph.D <ashami2[at]uwo[dot]ca> (Junior Past Chair)
Murray L Macdonald <murraymacdonald[at]ieee[dot]org> (Senior Past Chair)
Weiming Shen, Ph.D. <wshen[at]ieee[dot]org> (Emeritus Past Chair)
Maike Luiken, Ph.D. <maike[dot]luiken[at]ieee[dot]org> (Emeritus Past Chair)
Murray L Macdonald <murraymacdonald[at]ieee[dot]org>
Dmitri Manias <maniasdi[at]gmail[dot]com>
Allan Van Damme <vandamma[at]londonhydro[dot].com>

Committee Chairs

Awards and Recognition
Murray L Macdonald <murraymacdonald[at]ieee[dot]org>
Industrial Relations
Anwar Haque, Ph.D. < ahaque32[at]uwo[dot]ca>
Membership Development
Duane Jacques, Ph.D. <duanejacques[at]gmail[dot]com>
Nominations Committee
Weiming Shen, Ph.D. <wshen[at]ieee[dot]org>
Program Committee
Weiming Shen, Ph.D. <wshen[at]ieee[dot]org>
Student Activities
Xianbin Wang, Ph.D. <wang[dot]xianbin[at]gmail[dot]com>
UWO Student Branch Counselor
Xianbin Wang, Ph.D. <wang[dot]xianbin[at]gmail[dot]com>
Fanshawe College Student Branch Counselor
Louis Jraige, Ph.D.
Section Student Representative
Ali Abdelhamid <aabdelh6[at]uwo[dot]ca>
Past Section Student Representative
Franklin Estanol
UWO Student Branch (General Information)
UWO Student Branch Chair
Andrew Kadar Simon <akadarsi[at]uwo[dot]ca>
Past UWO Student Branch Chair
Nour Zourob
Teacher In-Service Program (TISP)
Murray L Macdonald <murraymacdonald[at]ieee[dot]org>
Wafaa Anani <wanani[at]gmail[dot]com>
History Committee
Trevor Grant <trevor[dot]grant[at]rogers[dot]com>
Senior Member Elevation
Weiming Shen, Ph.D. <wshen[at]ieee[dot]org>
Ashfaq Kash Husain <a[dot]husain[at]ieee[dot]org>

Technical Society Chapters

Engineering in Medicine and Biology Society Chapter Chair
Terence M. Peters, Ph.D. <tpeters[at]robarts[dot]ca>
Power & Energy Society Chapter
Jin Jiang, Ph.D. (Chair) <jjiang[dot]eng[dot]uwo[at]ieee[dot]ca>
Dennis Michaelson, Ph.D. (Vice-Chair) <dgm[at]uwo[dot]ca>
Computer Society / Systems, Man, and Cybernetics Society Chapter
Abdallah Shami, Ph.D. (Chair) <ashami2[at]uwo[dot]ca>
Hassan Hawilo (Vice-Chair)
Communication / Broadcast Society Chapter
Xianbin Wang, Ph.D. (Chair) <xianbin[at]gmail[dot]com>
Tianqi Yu (Vice-Chair)

Affinity Groups

Young Professionals (formerly GOLD) Chair
Fuad Shamieh <fshamieh[at]uwo[dot]ca>
Young Professionals (formerly GOLD) Vice-Chair
Abdallah Moubayed <amoubaye[at]uwo[dot]ca>
Life Members Chair
Murray L Macdonald <murraymacdonald[at]ieee[dot]org>
Women in Engineering (WIE) Chair
Mahsa Bataghva Shahbaz, Western University <mbataghv[at]uwo[dot]ca>
Women in Engineering (WIE) Past-Chair
Manar Jammal, Western University
Women in Engineering (WIE) Founding Chair
Elena Uchiteleva <elena.uch[at]gmail[dot]com>
Women in Engineering (WIE) Vice-Chair
Ana Luisa Trejos <atrejos[at]uwo[dot]ca>

IEEE Canadian Foundation

IEEE Canadian Foundation Representative
Maike Luiken, Ph.D.<maike[dot]luiken[at]ieee[dot]org>

London Section Established: October 31, 1944
Geocode: 07 05 07 00, Officer’s Terms End: 19/12
Council Affiliation: Central Canada Council